Jenny Wilson — Interview

Cila Warncke
2 min readMay 11, 2018

--

I was humbled and honoured to interview singer & musician Jenny Wilson about her new album Exorcism. Below is a brief excerpt.

Please visit Pennyblackmusic.com to read the full interview.

Ms Wilson

Exorcism is to Swedish electro maven Jenny Wilson’s ouevre what Guernica is to Picasso’s: an uncompromising masterpiece of equal political and artistic importance.

The difference: Picasso painted as an observer; Wilson makes music as a survivor.

“I didn’t choose the subject, the subject chose me,” says Wilson, whose discography includes Love and Youth, Hardships!, and the double album Blazing. “I was 40-plus, with two kids, a career, and a network of lovely friends. Despite all that, and the fact I considered myself a ‘smart’ and ‘strong’ woman, it happened to me. The rape.”

Exorcism charts Wilson’s pain, fear, anger, fragility and struggle to reshape her sense of self after a man raped her, two years ago. Her frank, unsparing lyrics are disturbing: as they should be. Sexual violence is a common theme in popular music and culture, but the tale is almost always told from a male perspective. Women are victims or objects; rarely subjects.

Wilson rejects this script. Exorcism lays full claim to her experience as an artist, a woman, and a survivor. She mourns, but doesn’t flinch. Her courage calls on us to open our eyes.

PB: Why did you decide to make an album about such a painful subject?

JW: I was confused and shocked. I had lost my inner compass. The only thing I knew for sure was that I HAD to write about it. Not that I WANTED to, but had to. This disturbing, horrifying thing had to go through my entire system. Otherwise it would’ve blocked me. Maybe shut me up… forever?

Read the rest at www.pennyblackmusic.co.uk.

Exorcism

--

--